Truthoughts

Introspection and Beyond

The Effect of Music

Posted by truthoughts on May 7, 2008

It is amazing how music can effect us in our mood, thoughts and our outlook of the past, present and future. It can cause an openess of creativity or suppress our inner selves from being expressed. Sometimes we listen to certain types of songs to wallow in our melancholy or to distract us from the situations that we must face.

On My Fav Music page, I have listed some of the songs (which are clickable for your listening and viewing pleasure) that move me in one way or another. Some of them are melancholy types and some are more upbeat. There are others that I would like to list, but just haven’t had the time. I want to make sure that I make it so that you can listen to them also and don’t have to try and ‘find’ them yourselves, to see if you like them too.

Anyway, the first song I have on my favs page is probably my most favorite. I was thinking the other day of why it is that I like it so much. I do like the song for the words, because you cannot hear that ‘everything is going to be alright’… to many times, right? But it is more than that… the notes used, just seem to pull you in (or at least they do me) and keep you there. Even so though, when you combine that with the video, to me it’s a hit. I really love her Jamie’s voice and the cinematography is mesmerising. I think that everyone in a relationship could relate to the words, and the actions on the video. Needless to say, I have been listening to this song repeatedly over the last few days. I am addicted to it.

I wonder if we choose music to fit our moods more or do we choose music to change our moods. I would probably have to go with the first option. This could be a problem though. If someone is depressed and they only listen to depressing songs, then they probably won’t get out of that stage very soon.

I don’t know about you though, but I tend to get sucked into melancholy songs more than any other. Those types make my thoughts ponder and my creativity open up.

I think about how kids will do things and then blame music or movies on their actions. I wonder how far fetched that actually is. If a kid grows up with their only contact being movies or music because their parents, siblings, etc. are too busy or to self absorbed to pay attention to them… that is all that they can relate too. If they feel rejected, naturally they will listen/watch/create what they know and each has to top the previous one… so you end up with either really good stuff or really bad stuff and there is the next generation.

Anyway, just a thought…

 

 

Leave a comment